Curious 8 (Who else is into pen and paper games?)

Discussion in 'General Lounge' started by samkfj, Jan 1, 2019.

1. samkfj

samkfj Bug Powder Veteran

First Language:
    English
    Primarily Uses:
    RMMV
    Though--I know it's been asked, let's talk more about it.

So I started playing back in my early college years. I was very much into partying, drinking and finding companionship around campus. If you saw me then, you'd think I wasn't into dnd--which to be fair, I wasn't; at least not until I tried it. I still remember, I had a history class with a tiny, skinny guy with glasses. We were paired to do a report on World War I (my idea, since I am a huge WWI nerd.) I remember we got most of it done, but he comes over to my dorm and knocks on the door. The girl I was with at the time opened it up, and says to me "There's some weird guy at the door." I find him there and I greet him like an old pal. Mind you--this guy and I were total opposites, but I never treated someone as anything less than equal, whether they were party people or school oriented.

He brings the rest of his part of the report and says to me that he's going to play dnd with his friends. I asked him about it--and his little face just--lit up. Telling me about crazy stories and rolling dice. I have to admit--it went right over my head, but he seemed so excited to talk about it... so I asked him "Can I come play with y'all?" His face lit up even more. Told the girl I'd catch her later--and the two of us went to play dnd.

I felt like a fish out of water at first--out of my element, and into their world. They were savage, maybe it was because I was new, or because I wasn't one of them--but after my initiation... it became a weekly thing.