Custom Clothing and tiles

Umpikuja

Villager
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
My eyes and head are going to hate me for this, but I have some questions about doing this. I am sure its all somewhere, but I am swimming in it with all the different versions of rpg and I am a fresh beginner.

I don't need a plugin, I don't think. I just need to know what file type the game is going to look for and where to take to replace from. Say, would I take a bathing suit sprite sheet .png from the software, put it in photoshop and build my clothing on a separate layer? And then what?

Celianna

Tileset artist
Global Mod
Reaction score
First Language
Dutch
Primarily Uses
RMMV
All graphics can be replaced and made custom, even the size is no issue. But first we need to clarify what you mean with your question; do you want the player to be able to change his clothes in-game, like a layer system to mix and match outfits, or are you looking for a way to add your own custom sprites to the game?

Umpikuja

Villager
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
for now I just want to create the charatcer with different clothing than what comes with MV. The other is not necessary, at least for now.

YoraeRasante

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
Portuguese
Primarily Uses
RMMV
Ok, the best option is to get the character "nude". There is a character generator in the program, if you want to use the standard style, you can make/remake the character you want there - sans clothes if you want to create an original one - and use it as a base to create yours...

Or you can do what I do and use another style.

But by your question I guess you are new at this?

The important parts:

• character sheets must come with either one character, in which case you need to put a $ in front of the name, or up to 8 in one set, in which case the empty areas need to be left there but blank (but nothing stups you adding to it later).