Custom graphics editing program recommendations

Discussion in 'Useful Development Tools' started by Nier, Aug 8, 2012.

1. Nier

Nier Warper Member

First Language:
    English
    Hello everyone! I'm quite the newbie here and I was looking all over for a tileset that could be used as a menu of sorts. I haven't found anything like that but what I need is so simple I'm sure I can manage making it myself. I was just wondering what sort of program you all use for creating/editing graphics for your games. I have photoshop and I'm not really an expert at it, but it seems like that isn't the best way to go about drawing tiny pixelated images. Paintshop seems like the worst idea ever but it's the only other option I can think of. I remember back when I used to use RPG Maker 2000 there was some program called !draw or something like that and it was pretty good. Suggestions anyone?

2. Shaz

Shaz Veteran Veteran

First Language:
    English
    Primarily Uses:
    RMMV
    I think people who have it use Photoshop. GIMP is a good, free alternative that I've used for pixel work. Paint.net is also good - not as flexible as the other two, but more simple to use and does most of what I need.

SolarGale likes this.
  3. Peltron

Peltron Orange Ventius Leader Veteran

First Language:
    English
    I use GIMP. Graphics Gale is nice, but it seems too cluttered for me to work right. With GIMP, I can freely adjust the size easily, make layers for all the different parts of the sprite and or tileset, and save it in a file I can always edit. It also is very easy to swap colors, erase certain colors and more. It is completely free as well.

If GIMP isn't your thing, try Graphics Gale. Even the free version will work perfectly fine. Others you can try is RealWorldPaint. This thing is pretty great, especially if you just want to resize things and keep a great quality.

Last edited by a moderator: Aug 8, 2012
  4. Zasian

Zasian Advanced N00B Veteran

First Language:
    English