Status
Not open for further replies.

Paramaxis

Villager
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
So I'm fairly new to RPG maker VX ace and I have a question.

I installed some modern tiles (and this issue isn't just with the modern tiles, it's with pretty much every custom tileset that I use) and i've found that when i want to make a map, some of the tiles overlap each other.

If you don't understand, I have a picture: http://imgur.com/4QxqriX

The 3 highlighted parts are the problem. When I add the tiles in, the bottom of the tile above it will be included too because the box I highlight with is too big. I have another image: http://imgur.com/jAEKqnd

Is there a way to fix this? I'ts really annoying me since it makes my maps look weird. Thanks.

(Also, sorry if I posted this in the wrong place. I'm still new.)

rpg problem.png

rpg maker problem 2.png

Last edited by a moderator:

mlogan

Global Moderators
Global Mod
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
Strange. It seems the tiles are offset by a pixel or two. But I don't know why that would be happening with multiple tilesets. Do you have any scripts you are using that might affect it?

edit: I went back and tested it with the exact same tiles and had no problems. So I don't think it's within the set itself. Have you modified the tiles at all in Gimp or something?

Andar

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
German
Primarily Uses
RMMV
There are two possible causes for this, both happen when you place tilesheets in the wrong slots.

1) There are six different formats for tilesheets, A1, A2, A3, A4, A5 and the format for B - E sheets. Any tile needs to be placed into the slot it is intended for, or the tileset will not work correctly.

With shop resources, you usually get an A# as part of the filename to indicate where that tilesheet has to go into