RPGMaker25

Villager
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
Hello again!

I have come across a little technical hitch... What I am aiming to do, is to have my character leave a certain area, and upon leaving the screen fades out and a cut-scene occurs. During this scene, the screen is dark (I filled it in with the darkness tile), and after the scrolling text and the background music ends I would like to have my character enter a different map. However, I am struggling to get my character onto a different map after the event finishes...The area's name comes up, but the screen remains black!

How do I achieve this? Please help! (Noob here, so please reply with simple instructions so I can understand what to do. Thanks! lol)

Last edited by a moderator:

That Bread

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
Primarily Uses
On the map he transfers to after the scrolling text, put Fade In Screen as an auto-run , make sure you turn off this event.

RPGMaker25

Villager
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
It worked.. but now when the screen re-appears my character wont move lol

Also, how do I make sure that this prologue cut-scene and the fade in only works once, so that I can have my character come and go as they please?

Thanks again in advance!

That Bread

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
Primarily Uses
He doesn't move because you need to turn off the event, example below

FadeIn

Control Self switch A is on

Create a new event page

check self switch and make sure it is A

To ensure any event does not repeat, insert a self switch into the event. Example as above will apply to turn off any event excluding the Fadein. Other methods to turn off events is through switches... so and so switch is on or off it must be set through the check boxes. But switches should only be used for events that effect more than one. Self switches are good for turning off one event.