Kuro DCupu

Trust me, I'm a veteran RMer
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
Indonesia
Primarily Uses
RMMV
This eventing tutorial works with most RPG Maker.

What is this about?
For RMer who intent to make puzzle-like minigame that involve moving object on map. This tutorial will achieve specific feature for what might be your need.

Feature
  • Allows player to "grab" object (not carry!) by holding the action button and release to "ungrab".
  • While grabbing, player may push or pull the object ONLY forward (push) or backward (pull) direction.

Requirement
  • Basic knowledge of eventing.
  • Two variables to store player's direction and button direction to be compared.
  • Difficulty level : Apprentice

How?
1591161677072.png

Full explanation
Beforehand, we store the player's direction and lock it in place. Then we trapped the event inside a loop to simulate "grabbing" as long as the action button are pressed. Otherwise, if we release the button the loop will break and grabbing is canceled. While inside the loop, we checked the directional input and compare that to the player's direction. If it's the same direction, we move it forward (push). If it's opposite direction, we move it backward (pull).

Points to be noted
  • If you want the event to wait for the player input, it's necessary to trapped the event inside a loop.
  • Always leave breathing space (at least wait 1 frame) when using loop. I forgot to put wait on screenshot. MV can handle it so it will still works, but other engine might stuck.
  • Normally, pulling object toward player will cause stuck because the tile is occupied by the player. Making the player move first is the safest decision, but would make it look weird. I make an alternative so they can move at same time relatively by using an exploit which I will explain on what we learn.
What we learn?