RMMV Deck/Card Combat System Feedback

Discussion in 'Ideas and Prototypes' started by Skidoosh, Oct 25, 2018.

1. Skidoosh

Skidoosh Warper Member

First Language:
    English
    Primarily Uses:
    RMMV
    Hello!

So this is my first time using RPG Maker and first time making an actual game with it. I have done tutorials and made simple maps to get a general gist of the system, so as far as making a side view battler/dungeon crawl game I'm good.

My question is if this combat system I have in mind is even feasible, or if I'm on the right track, or if I should change it up.

So the gist is, in this card game your character plays as an "Avatar" which is a barebones representation of them, both players have the same HP and stats at the beginning. The deck that you build deals out cards. say 4 or 5, which define what you can do that turn. This can be something as simple as attacking or using a spell and then at the end of the turn you draw another card. The depth in the game comes from some of the cards can be gear, like a sword, or shield, that changes your characters stats like increasing attack damage or defense. You can also get cards that are special attacks like "Double Slash" that may require the sword card to be in effect to use.

The idea is that your character doesn't have a "class" but rather the deck you build defines what your character is. A lot of spells and spell enhancing equipment would make you more "wizard" and more weapons and abilities more "warrior" and of course you could blend the deck to have a little of both to make some "spellsword" hybrid. This would add a lot of flexibility and fun customization with a deck building system and you could have different decks built for different styles of play.