NWeiss

Warper
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
Hi friends,

First of all, I'm a full-blown noob all around (I'm not a programmer in any sense, I'm new to RPG Maker, this is my first forum post, and, while I've studied and played games for my whole life, this is my first game), so I apologize if this is in the wrong place or I say something dumb. I appreciate any help anyone can give.

So here's my issue:
I deployed a WIP version of my game to show some people what I was working on. After I did that, my playtest function within the builder (not sure of the terminology) no longer functioned properly: I now need to deploy whenever I want to test any changes I make.

At first, I thought that was just an annoyance and a hindrance, but this was slated to be a smaller project (it being my first), and I couldn't find a solution online, so I decided to ignore it and suck it up.

However, I noticed that my project was getting bigger and bigger at an unbelievable rate and that the Deployments were taking longer. I looked into it, and it seems like each time I deploy, it is creating a copy of everything within the game folder and putting that into a subfolder within the game folder. The result is like a nesting doll of versions of the game. Each "WWW" subfolder has all the audio, data, fonts, etc. and also another WWW subfolder.

The end result is that my project file is now 20GB(!), and I'm only about half-way done with what was intended to be a small game to begin with. I was planning on distributing it for free once I'm done, but that's already difficult at this size and will surely be impossible, at this rate, once I'm actually done.