VordGames

Warper
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
Hello all!

So I'm about 20 days into my trial version of RPG Maker MV and must say I'm really enjoying it as I've wanted to develop a game for a long time but only now been able to make it a reality for various reasons. Now as you can probably assume I'm still learning quite a bit about the program and it's abilities and limitations, because I'm still learning everything I tend to go off on a tangent during development typically overworking one section when I figure out how to do something I want to include. Unfortunately, this ends up wasting time I feel like because I end up going back a couple days later and completely reworking that section when I discover something else I can do (I've gone through about 3 or 4 iterations of my game's main city. Map, events, details etc.).

Basically I'm just wondering what everyone else's development process is like? Do you focus on building a whole world first then going in section by section building on the foundation? When should I start considering improving tilesets for better graphics and details and such? Do you have a full story built before you start or do you start with a general outline and script the story as you need to?

I know it's a lot of questions and things to consider, just wanted to get some tips so I don't feel so overwhelmed at times.

Thanks!!

PS-I will be posting more on this game specifically in the future as it's a story that I really want to share with others, however I don't want to rush it and sacrifice quality and detail as I'm sure is easy to do on your first game.

Jules98

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
Dutch
Primarily Uses
RMMV
If there's one thing you should know about developing a game, it's that it will take some time. Rule of thumb is that 1 hour of good gameplay equals ~100 hours of development.