Digging holes to find treasure

pkessler

Villager
Reaction score
First Language
English
I want to make a game that will heavily involve digging to find fossils and other ancient treasures. Is this possible in RPG Maker MV? I don't know anything about programming, but I've been using RPG Maker for 5+ years.

I saw a tutorial on this, but it involved making a bunch of invisible events that get summoned when you click the ground, which I don't want to do.

Isn't there a way to tag/mark certain ground types so that if your shovel is out you can trigger a digging hole event? I feel like there has to be, but I've also heard that it's not possible to change the actual terrain tiles. I would be happy with just creating a "hole" event on top of that tile, but I'd rather not have to litter each map with hundreds of these invisible events.

Andar

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
German
Primarily Uses
RMMV
you can use region ID to mark places, then link a common event to be used on a skill to check if there is an ID on a tile and react depending on it.

However, this (and most alternative ways) have a problem because the map is fixed - the only way to mark a position in any way by default is to use an event.

So you'll either have to use a lot of events where digging should be possible, or you need a plugin to give you another way to handle the problem - either a custom plugin for your specific idea, or a map change plugin to make changes to the map (which will also result in a slightly more complex common event as it has to check for more options.

pkessler

Villager
Reaction score
First Language
English
you can use region ID to mark places, then link a common event to be used on a skill to check if there is an ID on a tile and react depending on it.

However, this (and most alternative ways) have a problem because the map is fixed - the only way to mark a position in any way by default is to use an event.