Drawing using mouse+keyboard (no Drawing Pad)

lil1I

Villager
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
Hello, not really sure if this is the right place to post this but...
I wanted to draw my own art in my game.
I want something like these, http://www.akashics.moe/ but I'm a newbie in drawing digitally.
What are the programs that I need? Is it even possible without drawing pad?
Maybe I can draw in paper, picture it, then improve it in Photoshop?
Anyone know a tutorial for newbies?

ImaginaryVillain

High Cultist of the Sporkle
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
Absurdism
Primarily Uses
RMMZ
I use https://krita.org/en/ it's entirely free, and is setup quite similarly to Photoshop. So if you know how to use Photoshop you basically know how to use Krita, only it's far more geared towards art with it's considerably better brush system.
Also while I have a drawing pad, it's basically a glorified door stop... I never remember to use it. :kaoswt: So I pretty much do all of my art with a mouse and keyboard. As for tutorials, I'd just YouTube drawing tutorial for whatever style of art you're looking to draw.

Hyouryuu-Na

Very very lazy
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
Not English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
I also don't have a drawing tablet or anything. I draw on ibis paint on my phone. It has all the tools you can use to easily make great illustrations.
You can also try paint tool sai. I's not free but you can draw pretty easiy using a mouse.

Last edited:

SoftCloud

Aspiring Game Alchemist
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
Depending on what you want to achieve you can do it with either. An artist friend did art through vector-line work. Personally I find it to be terribly difficult to use line-tools via Paint Tool SAI and likened programs to ink in things. You can control pressure and thickness through modifying the lines themselves.

alice_gristle

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses