autophagy

tank nerd
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
German
Primarily Uses
RMMV
(...or any software that does tables, basically. Also some general plotting advice.)

Introduction

I am a writer and I know the struggle of keeping your plot organized. There's tons of different software for it, some of it quite expensive, some free. There's also many different approaches and methods. If you found the software/method that works for you, I'm happy for you! But if you are still looking for an alternative or are curious about other ways to plot, I want to introduce you to an easy and free method.

(I know the length of this tutorial makes it in fact not look easy, but trust me, it is, once you got the hang of it.)

I got the idea when I read a book about story structure. I don't want to advertise here, and I also have to admit I didn't understand much of what I read. BUT it helped me come up with a very (for me) efficient way to put some order into the chaos that are my plot ideas.

Like I said in the title, we will be using Google Sheets to create a dynamic outline for our plot.

The advantage of Google Sheets is that you can use it from everywhere you have internet access, and are also able to download the documents for when you need to go offline. I'd also argue it's better than doing this on paper, since you can always edit, add, delete, and move cells freely. But if you're a paper fan, you can of course use this method too. If you have Microsoft Excel or any other program that does similar sheets and aren't comfortable with using Google products, you can use this method as well.

But enough of that introduction thing, let's get to the actual tutorial!

Basic Sheet Settings

First things first, we need to change a couple of settings before we can get started. If you open a new sheet, it looks like this: