Educational game - license problem

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Nashir, Dec 3, 2019.

1. Nashir

Nashir Warper Member

First Language:
    Czech
    Primarily Uses:
    RMMV
    Hi guys,

I'm a final year medical student and I started to work on a educational game for medical students which I would give for free with a possibility of donating money to me and people who help me with it.

Because I use a lot of medical books I started to ask, if there is a problem with authors' rights. I've contacted lawyers and they asked me, if there wouldn't be also a problem with the software license.

I've bought RPG Maker MV so I read RPG Maker MV EULA... If I understand it correctly, there shouldn't be a problem with distributing my game as long as I don't break the authors' rights (4. User Games do not violate statutes, laws, regulations, orders, or public order, and there is no risk of such violations.)... right? I know, there are other things I have to do, but this is for me the biggest issue I'm trying to solve right now.

Can someone help me answer my questions, please? Can I distibute my game, if I would manage to solve the problem with authors' rights? Or are there other problems which I don't see right now and that could make distributing my game problematic?

2. mlogan

mlogan Global Moderators Global Mod

First Language:
    English
    Primarily Uses:
    RMMV

I've moved this thread to General Discussion. Please be sure to post your threads in the correct forum next time. Thank you.

Moved it here since it doesn't really pertain to selling a game.

3. Shaz

Shaz Veteran Veteran

First Language:
    English
    Primarily Uses:
    RMMV
    If you plan to receive any kind of income from the game (including donations), it would be considered a commercial game.