Enemy Dynamic Max HP

Discussion in 'RGSS Script Requests' started by Teabone, Mar 30, 2019.

Tags:
  1. Teabone

Teabone Veteran Veteran

First Language:
    English
    Primarily Uses:
    RMXP
    Hey all,

I've been trying to find a simple solution for creating a way for enemies during battle to have increased overall maximum health without effecting all instances of that enemy within the troop or in future battles. Is there a variable that people are aware of for something like this?

I'm also quite new to scripting and its been hard finding resources online still around for RPGXP around this sort of topic.

Using simple Event Commands dont seem to work as the max hp cap still applies even if you try to percent it over.

EDIT: Just noticed this can indeed be altered strictly in Control Variables. Though the scripting solutions are best. Thanks @KK20

Last edited: Mar 30, 2019
  2. KK20

KK20 Just some XP Scripter Veteran

First Language:
    English
    Primarily Uses:
    RMXP
    Something as simple as this will suffice for your request. Paste below default scripts, above Main as usual.
    Code:
    class Game_Troop
      alias randomize_enemy_hp setup
      def setup(troop_id)
        randomize_enemy_hp(troop_id)
        @enemies.each do |enemy|
          # HP Variance of -10% to +20% base max HP
          enemy.maxhp += enemy.maxhp * ((rand(31) - 10) / 100.0)
          enemy.hp = enemy.maxhp
        end
      end
    end
    This changes each enemy's MaxHP to be -10% to +20% its database MaxHP value. If you want to be more creative, I'd need to know some specifics.

3. Teabone

Teabone Veteran Veteran

First Language:
    English
    Primarily Uses:
    RMXP
    Fantastic intro here to Ruby scripting for me. Already makes sense. Its the existing database variables I need to become more familiar with.

This has helped me a lot. Thank you very much!