Event scripting and varying choice menus

Discussion in 'RPG Maker MV' started by Kenode, Jun 23, 2018.

1. Kenode

Kenode Veteran Veteran

First Language:
    Spanish
    Primarily Uses:
    RMMV
    Hello, first of all, this is my first time here, so please bear with me if I ask very silly things :blush:

So far, Googling around helped me with many doubts I had while learning RPG Maker MV, however I stumbled upon this one I can't seem to find anything about. I am trying to create a choice menu with options which vary depending on switches or variables.
    I found this thread which has given me a great start, but I am not sure if it is explained there and I am too dumb to understand, or if I am asking for something completely different to what is explained in there.

Before you ask, no, I am not a programmer, so I'm sure it is something obvious that I am not seeing, or maybe improper syntax?
    What I am trying is, check if a specific switch is enabled, and if it is, then add the option to a list which will be called later on the choices function, but I'm running out of ideas.

2. Aloe Guvner

Aloe Guvner Walrus Veteran

First Language:
    English
    Primarily Uses:
    RMMV
    That method in the code is somewhat confusing, it is actually building the entire choices from scratch through script.

1.)
    Here are some comments on this process:

Code:
    var choices;  //Make a variable called 'choices', it has no value yet
    if($gameSwitches.value(0)) choices+=['Switch 1'];  // If Game Switch #0 is ON, add "Switch 1" as a choice
    if($gameSwitches.value(1)) choices+=['Switch 2']; // If Game Switch #1 is ON, add "Switch 2" as a choice
    if($gameSwitches.value(2)) choices+=['Switch 3']; // If Game Switch #2 is ON, add "Switch 3" as a choice

$gameMessage.setChoices(choices, 0, -1); // Create the choice window, with the choices from earlier (between 0-3 choices