Eventually, it's free.

PK8

I sense there's something in the wind...
Veteran
Reaction score
Primarily Uses
Okay, laugh if you will, but I'm debating on wanting to "go commercial" however I haven't completely made up my mind yet (edit: I most likely won't). The inspiration for the thread came from me watching a documentary about a YouTube personality which used to have a price tag but eventually became free to view. Also, I have no experience in this sort of thing so correct me if I'm wrong on anything.

I suck at starting threads but I have a few questions in mind about this topic which you may/may not answer. Some are probably pretty stupid but I'm curious nonetheless. Here goes:

• From a developer's perspective, when would it be considered a smart move to lower down the price of a game, if at all?
  • From a consumer's perspective, how would you feel about a game (you probably bought) being lowered down/free?
  • ...What about the game being free?
  • When would it be appropriate to completely ditch the price tag of a game, if at all?

Last edited by a moderator:

Helladen

Deviant Designer
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
I don't think it is wise to ditch a price tag unless no one bought it at all, because that can really upset people.

If you provide a warning of a price being lowered for a month that should prevent people from complaining about it. I see it all the time on Blizzard's sites.

If you think the game offers something you can go commercial, but otherwise go free if you're still new at making games.

Ronove

♫꒰・‿・๑꒱
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
If you think the game offers something you can go commercial
What does that even mean? Every game offers something. It doesn't matter if it fits your criteria of "something" but all games do.