GolfHacker

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMVXA
One of the holes in the Time Fantasy graphics set is the lack of face sets / portraits that fit that style.

I was inspired by the face bases that @Des abandoned and the samples that @StrawberrySmiles showed in another thread, so I thought I would see what I could do. I'm not a pixel artist, or even a professional artist, but I do have some background in art.

I wondered what it might look like if the Ace generator parts were converted to the Time Fantasy style, so I took Face01 and one set of eyes, ears, noses, mouths, and eyebrows scaled them down by 1/2 and recolored them with the Time Fantasy color palette, taken from Des's sprite bases and abandoned faces. I didn't tackle hair yet, but here's what I've got so far:

And here it is scaled back up 2X to the Ace generator size:

I'm not sure yet if I like how it looks. But I've been tinkering with this all afternoon, so I'm probably too close to it for an objective opinion. So what do you guys think? Am I onto something here? Should I continue experimenting with this and try some hair, or does this just not look good? I'm concerned about whether or not it fits with the Time Fantasy style...

jonthefox

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
Primarily Uses
I think it looks great, and fits perfectly with the TF style.

StrawberrySmiles

The Talking Fruit
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
Hehehe, thanks. :D

I like their eyes and noses! It fits perfectly, as the above poster said!

Neo Soul Gamer

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
N/A
That's an interesting idea... I don't think they look bad at all man. Better than no Facesets at all, imo.

I'm going to take a look at this after work today and find out if it'd be worth converting all the resources and just using that generator.

GolfHacker

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMVXA