Final Fantasy Sprites - Off Limits

TheWhiteRose000

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
Well I've been working on my commercial game now for a few months and recently.
I began to wonder why no one has ever done a game with Final Fantasy themed sprites?
So since I am also in game press, reviewing titles ect I wrote to Square Enix.

To see if I can use sprites that look visually similair to Final Fantasy VI the game where we
drew a lot of inspiration from and to summarize.

They strait out told me no and gave no reason currently as to why I cannot use my own sprite
creations.
Even if they do have a similar style to theirs.

Psyker

Degibeta Team
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
While I am not a lawyer basically they are saying if it looks like their sprite it must be their sprite regardless of whether it is or not.

I can easily see both Rosa / Terra and Locke out of two of those sprites.  Now that I'm really looking at them they are heavily inspried by FFVI.

My recommendation use the sprites as a learning experience and create better non Final Fantasy themed sprites.  Better to go that route then getting a cease and desist or law suit.

Andar

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
German
Primarily Uses
RMMV
The problem is the difference between copyright and trademark.

Copyright is content that belongs to the creator and your work can be used wherever you want. That includes you making your own sprites that "accidentally" look similiar to the Final Fantasy ones - you can use them whereever you want as long as you don't violate trademarks.

Trademarks are registered names and logos, and they can't be used in any form without licence of the owner of that trademark.

Which means as soon as you connect your work to the trademark by saying "this is a Final-Fantasy-Sprite" instead of "my sprites are inspired by other games but my own", then your work becomes illegal.