Final Fantasy Style Battlers

Tahmid

Warper
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
Hey guys, like many of you, I am a huge fan of Final Fantasy, espicially the early ones (III to VI) and IX. Anyway, something I noticed starting from IV was the very uniform style of character sprites these games had in battle. They really looked nice IMO. Anyway, fast forward to present day, and Square is still pushing ports of these classics, and even these modern games employ the same style of battler character sprites. So, I bought the Android port of FF6, and I was disappointed by the graphics. I mean, they are obviously still trying to go for the same style, but IMO, its a damn mess. Now, I am a pixel artist with some (very minor) experience in the industry, so I wanted to make sprites that I would enjoy having in the modern ports. Anyway, this is my result:

(Locke & Sabin)

For reference, these are Square's versions:

So, why am I sharing this with you? Well, I am really happy with the results, and I was wondering how much interest there is for FF style battlers for Rpg Maker characters. For example, something like this:

Let me know what you guys think.

Last edited by a moderator:

mlogan

Global Moderators
Global Mod
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
I'm approving this, but I think I'm going to move it to Resource Support. I'm not sure it's the best place, but General Resources is for posting resources that are ready to be shared.

Tahmid

Warper
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
I'm approving this, but I think I'm going to move it to Resource Support. I'm not sure it's the best place, but General Resources is for posting resources that are ready to be shared.

But these resources are ready to be shared though :/

For example, the sprite of the RMMV dude can be used as battler sprite. Thanks anyway.

mlogan

Global Moderators
Global Mod
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV