Force action using current character

Discussion in 'RPG Maker VX Ace' started by bigboi567, Jun 26, 2019.

1. bigboi567

bigboi567 Villager Member

First Language:
    english
    Primarily Uses:
    RMVXA
    So I originally wanted to have an item that does a skill when used. I had a look at the forums and realized that force action is the way to go. Unfortunately, you can't target the current character so it looks like i'll have to use a script. I have no script experience nor do I know how to use ruby so I looked online and tried to learn to come up with a script that would work which obviously didn't, hence why I made the post. So if anyone could be kind enough to help I'd be very appreciative.

2. Heirukichi

Heirukichi Veteran Veteran

First Language:
    Italian
    Primarily Uses:
    RMVXA
    What do you mean? Because there are various way to do this. You could, for example, use a dummy skill that stores both caster and target in variables using the skill formula and then forces the action based on those variables. It is completely possible without using a script. If you mean something different then you have to add more details.

3. bigboi567

First Language:
    english
    Primarily Uses:
    RMVXA
    Thanks for the reply. I think i like that dummy skill idea tho.

If its not too much trouble, could you show how that method is done. Mainly asking because I'm not sure how to use the force action command using variables.

4. Heirukichi

Heirukichi Veteran Veteran

First Language:
    Italian
    Primarily Uses:
    RMVXA
    Storing user and target information in variables using skill formula can be done this way:
    Code:
    $game_variables[USER] = a; $game_variables[TARGET] = [] unless $game_variables[TARGET].is_a?(Array); $game_variables[TARGET] << b; 0

The 0 in the end is to ensure that your dummy skill deals no damage/healing.

In your event you should use the following script call:
    Code:
    $game_variables[TARGET].length.times do