Gender Functions scripting help?

deboned

Villager
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
Hi everyone! I'm relatively new to RPGMaker and I've been immersing myself in tutorials to learn how to do everything.  I'm starting to try working with scripts but this is the hardest part for me because I have no programming or coding background at all.

I recently downloaded a script by Mr.Bubbles (script here: https://mrbubblewand.wordpress.com/rgss3/gender-functions/ ) that allows you to assign genders and have gender functions and requirements for your actors, but I have one issue I can't figure out: I only have one playable character but I made it so the player is able to choose whether they want to play as a male or a female, so I can't figure out how to assign gender to the actor once the player has chosen what gender they want to be.

Also, if the case is that i CAN'T assign gender after the player has chosen, if i do set up two separate players for both genders, how can I make it so when the NPC's talk to the player they know which actor the player has chosen, because with the \N[n] system I don't know how to make that a vary based if the player chose actor1 or actor2.

i'm sorry if any of this sounds confusing or vague.  I hope someone can help me out with this!!

Yato

(aka Racheal)
Veteran
Reaction score
Primarily Uses
If they're locked to the first position, you could use \P[0] to get the name. Alternatively, you could probably store which actor the main character is in a variable and go \N[\V[variable]], but I'll need to test that and see if that actually works. (Edit: Yes, the second method works, at least with the default message system.)

Last edited by a moderator:

Uzuki

Kawaii on the streets, Senpai in the sheets
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV