get actor ID of item target

Discussion in 'RGSSx Script Support' started by Malchar, Nov 12, 2019.

1. Malchar

Malchar Villager Member

First Language:
    English
    Primarily Uses:
    RMVXA
    Hello,

I am making an item which runs a common event script. From inside the common event's script, is there a way to reference the actor ID of the actor that the item was used on?

I basically just need the item to do stuff to whichever actor it is used on, but I don't know how to get the actor ID to use in scripts. It will only be used outside of combat, if that matters.

I am still learning the basics of Ruby. I know Java, and I am struggling a bit with the lack of obvious "getter" functions in Ruby.

Thank you

2. Ossra

Ossra Formerly Exhydra Veteran

First Language:
    English
    Primarily Uses:
    RMMV
    @Malchar Sure, here is some event code and javascript that should grab the actorId whether you are in battle or on the map.

Code:
    ◆Comment:// Determine if Party is in Battle
    ◆If:Script:$gameParty.inBattle()
      ◆Comment:// Party in Battle; store 'BattleManager._targetId' into variable 1
      ◆Control Variables:#0001 = BattleManager._action._subjectActorId + 1
      ◆
    :Else
      ◆Comment:// Party is on Map; store '$gameParty._targetActorId' into variable 1
      ◆Control Variables:#0001 = $gameParty._targetActorId
      ◆
    :End

From there you can use the 'variable' option instead of the 'fixed' option when selecting actors in certain event commands, or you can grab the actor data directly via $gameActors.actor($gameVariables.value(variableId))

3. TheoAllen

TheoAllen Self-proclaimed jack of all trades Veteran

First Language:
    Indonesian
    Primarily Uses:
    RMVXA
    @Ossra I like that how many times that you answer VXA question with Javascript :D