Hisao Shou

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
Primarily Uses
Hello there, I'm new in javascript programming, and I'm having difficulties to get an array of map ids for $gameMap.event.

I basically want to do Something like:

var arr = [3, 5, 6]; //array of certain events
return $gameMap.event(arr); //returns to any event which has the ids from array

Can someone please help me with this?

Poryg

Dark Lord of the Castle of Javascreeps
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
Czech
Primarily Uses
RMMV
arr is an array and $gameMap.event accepts only an integer.

caethyril

^_^
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
EN
Primarily Uses
RMMZ
I'm guessing you want to return an array of event objects corresponding to those event IDs? In which case you could try something like this:
Code:
var ids = [3,4,5];
return ids.map(function(id) {
  return $gameMap.event(id);
});

MushroomCake28

KAMO Studio
Global Mod
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMZ
Also, if my memory serves me correctly, $gameMap is an object that only contains information on the current map, not all maps. The game doesn't load all maps to save on memory usage. Data for all maps are kept as json files and are only read (process of taking that info and storing it in $gameMap to replace the data of the old map) when you change map.

(Sorry, I just noticed that you're talking about event ids and not map ids. Your first sentence is confusing me: "I'm having difficulties to get an array of map ids for $gameMap.event.")

For what I think you want to achieve, the above post would be your solution. If it's something else, please be more precise.

Hisao Shou

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
Primarily Uses
I'm guessing you want to return an array of event objects corresponding to those event IDs? In which case you could try something like this:
Code:
var ids = [3,4,5];
return ids.map(function(id) {
  return $gameMap.event(id);
});
Thank you very much! This worked

Latest Threads

Latest Posts