standardplayer

Keeper of Kitties
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
N/A
I have a question that I've been researching for a while now. 

I'm very new to Javascript, but I'm not terrible at it. I am a bit overwhelmed by some of what I look up in the core JS scripts, however.

I've been trying to figure out how to use script calls to handle Show Choices. 

I know it can be done through the maker with events, I just want to know for my own reasons, which aren't important to the question itself. 

So I'll give a simple scenario. 

I want to show choices 'Yes' and 'No'

Then I would like to use the resulting choice in, say, an if statement. 

I've seen the very helpful script calls spreadsheet for MV, but it doesn't get me any closer to my answer. 

And Ive seen SumRndmDd's (sp) thread, but it still didn't help me. What is the actual call I would use/how would I use it.

Could someone show me a simple example Of showing choices 'Yes and 'No', and then how to use the resulting choice in a if statement to display text according to the choice?

Any help would be massively appreciated ^^

Hudell

Dog Lord
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
Java's Crypt
Primarily Uses
RMMV
Check Game_Interpreter.command101 to see the code that is used to show choices:

this._index++;
this.setupChoices(this.currentCommand().parameters);

So you could do something like this to show your Yes/No choices:

$gameMap._interpreter.setupChoices([['Yes', 'No'], 1]);

And to handle the response with JS, you can use a callback function:

Code:
$gameMessage.setChoiceCallback(function(responseIndex) {
  if (responseIndex === 0) {
    // Player chose "Yes"
  } else {
    // Player chose "No"
  }
});

standardplayer

Keeper of Kitties
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
N/A
I tried that (copied and pasted both parts) in a script call, my game threw an error that said 

Cannot read property length of null