p0_boy

anti-kumbaya
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
I hope I am posting this in the right forum. If not, I apologize.

I've been using RPG Maker MV on a MacBook Pro for a few months now and it is working splendid, but I am looking to purchase a second computer that I can use for testing Windows builds.

Steam lists RMMV's minimum requirements for Windows systems as:

• MINIMUM:
    • Processor: Intel Core2 Duo or better
    • Memory: 4 GB RAM
    • Graphics: DirectX 9/OpenGL 4.1 capable GPU
    • Storage: 1 GB available space
    • Additional Notes: 1280x768 or better Display

• RECOMMENDED:
    • Graphics: OpenGL ES 2.0 hardware driver support required for WebGL acceleration. (AMD Catalyst 10.9, nVidia 358.50)
I am seeking to get something close to this- reason being that I would like to test my project on a system that isn't so jacked up so that I can anticipate possible performance issues.

I have found a desktop with the following specs:
  • Intel Core2 Duo 2.9 GHz
  • 4 GB RAM
  • Axle NV GT610 1GB 64 bit Video Card
  • 160 GB HDD
  • 17" LCD Monitor (1280x1024)
  • Windows 7
I am not trying to use this computer for anything more than RMMV. My questions are (to the Windows users in this forum):
  1. Does this look like something that will work for what I am trying to do?
  2. Is it wise for me to get the bare minimum or should I splurge for a system with slightly better specs (newer processor, more RAM)?
  3. Will I be required to purchase an additional, separate license for RMMV? (I currently have the Steam version for my MacBook Pro)
Thanks in advance for your help / recommendations!

ShadowDragon

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
Dutch
Primarily Uses
RMMV
my recommendation would be:
8+ GB Ram while larger game or higher evented in HQ can gives lag, so 16GB if you want a good to run mostly all kind