Having BOTH visual encounters and random encounters

Discussion in 'Game Mechanics Design' started by somenick, Jul 21, 2019.

Tags:
  1. somenick

somenick Veteran Veteran

First Language:
    English
    I am playing with the idea of featuring BOTH types of encounters. Granted, on most normal maps, it would only be visible encounters, but on maps with very tall grass / foggy climate / poor visibility conditions / extremely rainy places, I might also add random encounters. (Maybe hero characters may complain visibility is poor or something, so the player knows what to expect) Bad idea? Cheap mechanic? Opinions?

2. Doktor_Q

Doktor_Q I'm not a real doktor, but I am a real Q Veteran

First Language:
    English
    Primarily Uses:
    RMMV
    I think it can be done well- a number of games (Etrian Odyssey, 7th Dragon, 3DS pokemon games) used both, and it worked decently well. If you're using both in the same map, then your visual encounters should be for strong enemies, probably something noticeably more powerful than the randoms.

A few points to consider:
    1) if the player is used to being able to avoid visual encounters, will random encounters mean they're fighting dramatically more enemies? This could be a concern for balancing or pacing (too many strong enemies = die, too many weak = annoying, too much reward = grinding, too little reward = really annoying, etc)
    2) no matter what, someone's going to complain about the random encounter section, especially if it's anywhere you could possibly get lost and just keep getting into fights

somenick likes this.
  3. somenick

somenick Veteran Veteran

First Language:
    English