Help, I'm a sketch artist not a musician:LF Zelda-like Music?

Discussion in 'Resource Requests' started by VitaliaDi, Apr 10, 2019.

1. VitaliaDi

VitaliaDi Jedi Master Veteran

First Language:
    English
    Primarily Uses:
    RMMV
    I have a couple questions for the music buffs on here.

1. What types of resources should I look for if I'm looking to make a Gameboy style fanmade Zelda game? I know MIDI music is a thing but I'm not sure if that's just a file type of music or if it's an actual style. Can I have some insight on this?

2. I'm new to RPG Maker MV, I've used 2k3 and XP in the past. Is there anything special about MV in reference to the music files it will accept?

3. If anyone has any saved resources, preferably free but paid is fine too I'm just looking for the style fit right now, can you share them here? Or your favorite music making users, or drop your own music. I'd like to check them out.

Thanks!
    -VD

2. definite_lee

definite_lee Veteran Veteran

First Language:
    English
    Since we're only allowed to share RPG Maker resources here...I will suggest you check out the music/sounds section on the RPG Maker Web store. Most of them allow you to hear samples before you buy.

MIDI is a file format type of music...Chiptune (or 8-bit) music is the style you are looking for if you want that old school video game sound.

For RPG Maker MV, you should use .ogg format for audio.

VitaliaDi likes this.
  3. MushroomCake28

MushroomCake28 KAMO Studio Veteran

First Language:
    English
    Primarily Uses:
    RMMV
    1. You might want to look for 8 bit music. MIDI music is also good.

2. .ogg for music files in MV.

VitaliaDi likes this.
  4. VitaliaDi

First Language:
    English
    Primarily Uses:
    RMMV
    @definite_lee @MushroomCake28 Thank you both I'll check those out. If I find .mp3 etc files I want to use is there an easy way to convert to .ogg? That seems like an obscure file type

5. MushroomCake28

MushroomCake28 KAMO Studio Veteran