Help out a Beginner? In Need of Advice!

Discussion in 'Resource Support' started by Rayter, Oct 19, 2016.

1. Rayter

Rayter Warper Member

First Language:
    English
    Hello everyone!

I want to make a short game on RPG maker VX ACE, but I don't want to use the defaults; I wish to create my own. I want to ask about few other things on the topic as well...

What can I use to make character pictures like this? Same for monsters? (doesn't have to be high quality, just something I can use or do to make these)

[​IMG]

Can I get any tips on sprite creation? like a layout or is there a program for it?

[​IMG]

How can I make battle effect such as what is bellow? Is it too difficult for a beginner?

[​IMG]

How do I make sound effects and music? Is there a free way to go about it? Do I have to know an instrument?

[​IMG]

Any other advice? As I said I'm a beginner to RPG Maker, so I will accept any advice from those with more experience!

Thank you to all that replied!

Last edited by a moderator: Oct 19, 2016
  2. lixerman99

lixerman99 Veteran Veteran

First Language:
    English
    Primarily Uses:
    N/A
    For a customizable face similar to that, (although without the body) use the character/battler/faceset generator, if you don't know already.

I don't think you can make monster faces, although to my knowledge some can be found online.

As far as I am aware no particular program for RPG MAKER sprites (i've heard of one but it doesn't get shining reviews).

You can just use paint.NET and stick to the guidelines show by the default sprites. Your program does need transparency though, so original paint and such cannot be used. Once done, you can then put the recources straight into the file for 'characters' in your games' folder or 'tilesets' or whatever. Or, you can import your sprites with the recourse manager.

Don't know about effects.