Help Placing NPC's On Furniture - Holding Furniture, Sitting on it, ect.

Discussion in 'Resource Support' started by ZeroAffex, May 12, 2018.

1. ZeroAffex

ZeroAffex Villager Member

First Language:
    English
    Primarily Uses:
    RMMV
    Greetings,

I am relatively new to RPG Maker MV. I have completed the in-game tutorials and have started down the path of making my first game. I have created some fun cut scenes that auto play out while you watch though in the process, I wanted to have one of my NPC's be able to sit on the sofa for one instance, sleep in a bed for another and lastly, have another NPC appear in the scene carrying a box, animal or something along those lines

I have gone into System>Tilesets and made sofas, beds, ect. below character (playing "O"'s), while this kind of works, it looks awful still. Changing tiles above character was worse looking. I am curious what the best way to go about this is? I wasn't able to find much online so decided I'd break in my first forum post for this issue. I've been trying to refrain asking questions in the early stages as I am sure lots of newcomers like myself instantly run here and ask rather than seeking out the answer before. So thanks in advance for your time in helping me out.

I did find a discussion on Steam forums similar to my issue where you can use Gimp to edit tilesets but it makes no sense to me how to make that work. I have no qualms using Gimp though, if only I understood how to do it. Thanks again. Cheers!

PS: Just thought of another thing that kind of relates to this post, what is the best way to have a NPC use items like phones? Is it possible to program/edit an character to appear like they are holding a phone? What about holding a phone with a coord to the wall? Is that possible to do? I figured if I could figure out how to do the above, I could use it for other scenes like a player getting a new weapon, raising it in the air or giving a friend a gift.

Sorry for length of post.

-Zero