Scumdrop

Warper
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RM2k
Hello everyone,

Glad to see the RPG community still up and running. Long ago I created a game called The Sword and the Fish for RPG2K and it did well on the old Ultima Island site.

I'm 38 now and my nephews want to play Sword and the Fish - but even though it's pretty tame, it's got some censurable content. I'm also a teacher and want to open the game up to my Grade 6 students over this long COVID summer.

In October I created a new project, copy pasted the old project in, named it 8.0 instead of 7.0 and got to work 'cleaning' the entire game - cutting out every bit of questionable language, lewd references, or items like '40 of Malt Liquor'. The game just isn't the same! But it is cleaner, and, frankly, I cleaned up a lot of the grammar.

A few days ago I finished. I have the original saved next to the '2020' version on my C drive, saved separately on my D drive, and saved to Google Drive where it lies safe forever. Once done, I threw it and all the executables into a new '2020' folder on Google Drive, zipped it, sent it to my brother to beta. Lo and behold, his version seems the same as the old one. I go to run it in the Editor and ALL the projects I load come up as the original and not the new clean one! Both ones on the C drive, the D drive one, and the two Google Drive ones. Three of these that makes sense for, but both '2020' ones now act like I never edited anything. This said, I know the work is THERE somewhere... I just think I'm not finding it to load it. At first I thought Google Drive just uploaded new .ini or .ldt or whatever and over-rode the clean version. But that doesn't explain my C drive one. I don't really know which files contain 'the game' itself or what needs to be reset.