Renee

Villager
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMVXA
Hello, everyone! I'm a huge newb to rpg maker vx ace and I need some help. I've looked through multiple threads but haven't found much of a solution. I'm trying to swap characters after they join the party (not mid-battle, but where the characters are wandering around the map). I want the main character to be able to swap in and out with their party member at the press of a button.

Kes

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMZ
'Game Mechanics Design' is for looking at aspects of game play at a more conceptual level. "How do I...?" (implementation) questions belong in the Support forum for the engine you are using.

[move]RGSS3 Script Requests[/move]

RCXGaming

Champion of Brightmoon Tor
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMVXA
So do you want a quick swap between party members on the overworld? Or to shift between characters on different parts of the map?

Andar

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
German
Primarily Uses
RMMV
@Renee
you need to give a better description of what you want, for example as to what to swap from where to where.
If you're talking about the party order, that is handled by the formation screen by default - do you want to replace the formation screen or do you want something else?

Renee

Villager
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMVXA
Say you wanted your main character to be a non-combat type with follower/s that can fight legend of zelda style. What I want is to be able to swap from the main character to those followers on command when entering combat.

Andar

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
German
Primarily Uses
RMMV
That should NOT be done on command but automatically without player input.