Help with a complicated event involving enemy skills.

Timothy Taber

Villager
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
I have a very complicated idea that I would like some guidance with implementing. I have no actual scripting experience, but would like to try.

I assume I need a conditional branch to start, I want to have an event where an enemy will check if another enemy is alive. (Check for Enemy Status?)

If it is alive, determines if it uses the skill.

Then after using the skill it checks which actor was hit. (Check ActorID)

And displays a reaction text. I want a few dialogue options but I know how to randomize dialogue.

The idea is the enemy grabs the other enemy and throws it at the PC resulting in their reaction.

Where do I even start with this.

Andar

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
German
Primarily Uses
RMMV
at minimum, you'll need a number of troop events setting states to control the enemy action patterns.
then each enemy needs to have an action pattern that reacts to the states for skill selection.

it can be done that way but requires advanced eventing knowledge.
or you have to request a plugin that enables new options for skills, and with that sequence it most likely have to be a custom plugin...

Timothy Taber

Villager
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
It could be done with scripting, right.

Wouldn't the starting if else statement be to just check if enemy state is KO. This is a very specific event, Enemy 1 would check for Enemy 3 and Enemy 2 would check for Enemy 4.

ATT_Turan

Forewarner of the Black Wind
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
By default, no, because enemies don't use the knockout state (you can see this in your game, when you kill an enemy they aren't sitting around as a corpse, they're removed from the battle).

You can get some ideas of how to work around it from this thread: