Help with custom menu options?

Discussion in 'Learning Ruby and RGSSx' started by Tagger101, Jun 29, 2014.

1. Tagger101

Tagger101 Veteran Veteran

First Language:
    English
    I don't have much scripting knowledge, and what I do know is self-taught through custom scripts, so I basically have no idea what I'd be doing when it comes to playing around with the base RGSS3 coding. I'd like to add an option to the menu, specifically a "Tutorials" option, where I could compile a collection of text explaining certain things about my game to players. I've been reading that I'd have to play around in the Scene_Menu and Window_MenuCommand sections, which I've tried, but again I have no knowledge about this sort of thing. Is there any way for someone like me to achieve this? If I haven't explained what I'm trying to do with enough detail, please tell me and I'll try to explain further. Any and all help will be appreciated! :)

2. SoulPour777

SoulPour777 Crownless King Veteran

First Language:
    English
    Primarily Uses:
    N/A
    Yes, you'll have to work around those two. First, you'll need to know how to generate texts. You can generate it in different ways, the easiest one would be to call a common event or game messages. However, its a bit tricky if you don't want your menu to stop and want it to hang up so the tutorials section would come in just fine. I will teach you the easiest route to achieve what you want, so let's get started. I will teach you the Common Event way.

Before we start, I would require you to install Tsukihime's Scene Interpreter script, as this script allows to run Interpreter commands via the Menu or any other scene. Now, how can we add a command on our menu? I will show you the easier way rather than modifying a lot on the menu, so you won't get confused, assuming you're new to RGSS3 like me, I'm a noob, really.

I am going to use the add_original_commands section.