Help with doors/events

TheRozman

Warper
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
Am I able to use the same square to do two different events (think of a fence gate, I want to click on the gate from either side and be able to pass through to the opposite side) not sure on the coding, or even what to click on, I'm new to RPGM

Dopan

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
German
Primarily Uses
RMMV
every event has eventpages, every eventpage can use its own IMG.
(& its own Switches/Conditions & its own event-triggers ect)..
Use more than one event page and use switches to controll which eventpage is active
Screenshot_1.png

I want to click on the gate from either side and be able to pass through to the opposite side

if you want to click on the gate with the mouse cursor than you will need a small script that can turn a switch by clicking on that event... the default event triggers are at the bottom left of the eventpage

Last edited:

Testtubebaby

Wizard of the woods
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMVXA
You can make the same event perform multiple different functions, so yes, it is possible to do what you are asking.

The simplest way that I can think of is just to have conditional branches that check which direction the character is facing, and to react accordingly.

For instance, if the character is facing north, have the gate temporarily open, use a move event to pass the character through the now open gate, and then have the gate close again behind the character once the move has been completed.

Personally, I use RMVXA, so I'm not sure what differences the two systems have, but I'm fairly confident that your program will have all of the necessary calls to make this happen.

What this sort of event would look like is something like this:
- Conditional branch to check which direction the character is facing (make sure the event is set to activate on action button).