Help with how to access player inventory from script?

Coras

10 Month Old Code Baby
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
N/A
I'm writing a plugin that requires a test to see if a certain item of ID 002 in the database is in the player's inventory. How do I do that?
Also, I'm a bit of a noob, so could someone explain to me how to use things like the $dataItems and $gamePlayer calls, because I can't seem to find a way to use them just by reading the code, for example where would I see in the code that I can use $gameParty.members()[ID] to refer to a party member? I don't see that anywhere.

Thanks

Shaz

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
$dataItems is just the array that you set up in the Items database. That just holds a description of each item.

Here's an easy way to find out stuff like this ... find an event command that does it, then look at the code to see what the event command does. rpg_objects.js and Game_Interpreter right towards the bottom, is the place to go for such a search.

For this example, the event page has a condition to make that page active if the party has a certain item. If you look at the Game_Event code you'll see a meetsConditions function, and the part that does the item check looks like this:
Code:
var item = $dataItems[c.itemId];
if (!$gameParty.hasItem(item)) {
  return false;
}
So it's using an item id to retrieve the element from the $dataItems array with that id. So the item var is an actual item, not an item id. Then it simply calls the $gameParty.hasItem function, passing in the item you're testing for.

Note that the Game_Party.hasItem function has two arguments. The second, includeEquip, defaults to false if not passed in. For items, that's not a problem, as you normally can't equip items. But if you were interested in armor or weapons, you'd need to pass in true as a second argument if you wanted it to consider equipment as well.