Polymorphh

Warper
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
Hi! Sorry for my incompetence first off in this thread. I'm not good at reading Javascript code and the things I tried with this have not worked thus far, therefore I am asking here for a meagerly surmountable amount of effort (as all I really need is pointers.) If this is in the wrong place! Sorry! I have generally not posted here due to the fact that the forum isn't really my thing. Though I believe this is something worth a try.

For starters. I made this sort of 'gauge' using SumRndmDde's Hud Maker plugin, which is on his website. But I can't figure out on my own how to really get it to work, I want to bind it to a variable that is then binded to a button that the user presses for it to slowly rise (the bar itself inspired by a game I used to play years ago, called 'Rogue Lineage', but that's unimportant, but I hope it gives reference to what I'm trying to do). Problem is that I am totally lost on trying to find code that would work for this sort of thing. Thereby I am asking for a little assistance here. I'll be out of your hair afterward!

Screenshots for Reference :
1674667369392.png
(The gauge itself, empty due to the removal of code, because I couldn't get my attempts to work without crashing the game due to ... Code-logic reasons(?) )

1674667397502.png
(The thing that's giving me a hassle in question.)

Sorry once again for asking somewhat of a dumb question here! I'm just a little out of sorts.

ATT_Turan

Forewarner of the Black Wind
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
Well, the current and maximum value would simply be the value of the variable and...whatever you want its maximum value to be.

You can get the value with $gameVariables.value(X) where X is the ID of the variable (no leading zeros).

To me, the trick is making your button press increase the variable - do you already have something to handle that part?

ShadowDragon

Realist
Veteran