Help with lighting?

Discussion in 'RGSS3 Script Requests' started by Momochy, Jun 23, 2019.

1. Momochy

Momochy Villager Member

First Language:
    English
    Primarily Uses:
    RMVXA
    I'm still new to using RPG Maker, but I think I've got the hang of how to edit the maps in Photoshop & then import it into VX Ace as an image file (or at least that's what the tutorial I followed said to do). But what I'd like to know is how to add lighting to a scrolling map?

The map I made is too big to fit on screen all at once, so when I add in the lighting file, it won't move with the screen & stays centered. Is it possible to get it to move with the character? Like a script perhaps?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated! Thank you!

2. ShadowDragon

ShadowDragon Veteran Veteran

First Language:
    Dutch
    Primarily Uses:
    RMMV
    if its the same in MV, place an ! in front of it, and place it in the parallax folder if that exist in VX Ace

3. Momochy

Momochy Villager Member

First Language:
    English
    Primarily Uses:
    RMVXA
    Thanks for the suggestion! I tried that, but it didn't work. Though I can't be sure if I'm doing it right

4. Bex

Bex Veteran Veteran

First Language:
    German
    Primarily Uses:
    RMMV
    In VXAce you need 2 Scripts.
    1.To log the offset scrolling of the Parallax Background, Script by Yanfly:
    https://yanflychannel.wordpress.com/rmvxa/utility-scripts/parallax-lock/
    2. A Script by SeerUk to fix Regular Pictures to the Map instead of the Screen(Used for Lighting Pictures).
    https://www.rpgmakercentral.com/topic/3076-fixed-pictures-for-rmvx-ace-for-parralax-mapping/

There exist a Script for Parallax Mapping which offers much more Options, but its also much more difficult to understand.
    But these are the Basics to create your own Light Map Pictures, or to make a Parallax as Map Floor and so on.

Edit: When you are new you maybe need this Fix Script by Mog Hunter.