Hex to Squares! (and vice-versa!)

Discussion in 'Resource Support' started by Pine Towers, Mar 28, 2017.

1. Pine Towers

Pine Towers Knight Hospitaller Veteran

First Language:
    Portuguese
    Primarily Uses:
    RMMV
    Hello there, guys (and gals).

I really want to adapt some old hex maps to my game, since I find them more organic than squares for an overworld.

Example:
    [​IMG]

I'm no artist (or mathematician) to know the best way to adapt this to squares. I know I could just shift one row to square-fy it, but I want to know if there's a way to keep the hexes, and the only way I can think of is making the squares "big" (3 hexes inside each default square) so I can fit the points of interest inside.

Also, want to know if hex maps are still "trendy".

So, what do you think of hex maps? Unnecessary work? Ugly? Not viable in a square-based game like RPG Maker?

Thanks!

2. HexMozart88

HexMozart88 The Master of Random Garbage Veteran

First Language:
    English
    Primarily Uses:
    RMVXA
    I came as soon as I heard my name. I actually like the little hexagons, although maybe I'm biased because I have a weird obsession with hexagons. For your other question, I don't know how you're planning on working this map, whether it be events or scripts, but if you're eventing it, I'd stuff one square in the centre of each hexagon.

Marsigne likes this.
  3. Sarlecc

Sarlecc Veteran Veteran

First Language:
    English
    Primarily Uses:
    RMMV
    When I saw this topic I thought that perhaps the best way to portray the hex grid would be to parallax it (paint.net has a handy tool for instantly drawing polygon grids). Now here is a problem rpg maker is based on a square grid, meaning that some of your tiles will have grid lines intersecting them no matter how you do it (not a problem if your character won't actually move on that map).