Hi! RPGM newbie here. Excited to make some games!

GMDev997

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
Hello all! I'm GM and I've been doing game dev on and off for a few years now. I got interested in using RPGM after building a short RPGM-like game from scratch. Midway through development, I realized it would have been much nicer to just use an engine specialized for the type of game I wanted rather than reinvent the wheel, that way I could get out of the code and focus on the actual design process. That said, I know that RPGM(MV) isn't a perfect engine; the abundance of plugins speaks to that. But I don't want to forego programming entirely anyway, so I look forward to figuring out and developing my own plugins, when needed.

I've started to dive into the engine a bit and, following SRDude's tutorials, put together a small map with some simple characters whose designs I've surprisingly grown to love (the character generator is a lifesaver!). I'll attach it here:
School Map Full.png
MyPeople.png

I like the map for the most part, even though it's not the best. I found it hard with the given RTP to make an interesting school environment, so some of it looks a bit bland, especially the vertical hallway (oh, why do they have so few side-view assets?). If anyone has any tips or advice when it comes to mapping I'm all ears!

Thanks for reading, and I'm looking forward to making games with RPG Maker!

The Stranger

The Faceless Friend
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
British English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
Hi there! Welcome to the community. It's always nice to see someone so enthusiastic and passionate. :)

Quexp

Lifelong Learner
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV