RMXP Horror Game Idea based Charlie and the Chocolate Factory

aGoodCabinet

Warper
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
Other
Hey, i've recently got back into liking RPG horror games by watching Manlybadasshero on youtube. And one of my old game ideas came back to me and I thought of making it with RPG Maker. I'm still not sure if I should buy it because I might not use it that much or I won't be using it all my life. I'm more on visual stuff than programming, as i am an aspiring digital artist and character designer. So anyway, the idea is:

It's pretty much a twisted version of Charlie and The Chocolate Factory. I'm still working on the lore and Wonka's motives, but the main game is Charlie, all grown up, going through the factory again, battling Oompa Loompas, Oompas mutated by candy, Candy mutants, and the other 4 children who lost the contest as main bosses, now mutated into candy monsters that are related to how they ended up during the Golden Ticket contest. Of course, Wonka might be the final boss.

Game mechanics may include actual rpg elements such as health, mana, stat, and exp system, instead of the usual "key unlocks door to unlock key" and scripted chase segments. Maybe equipping Charlie with candy-related weapons and items.

Also somewhat inspired by American Mcgee's Alice

KazukiT

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
Hey, i've recently got back into liking RPG horror games by watching Manlybadasshero on youtube. And one of my old game ideas came back to me and I thought of making it with RPG Maker. I'm still not sure if I should buy it because I might not use it that much or I won't be using it all my life. I'm more on visual stuff than programming, as i am an aspiring digital artist and character designer. So anyway, the idea is: