ladylannistarth

Villager
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
My battle system is quite unusual and I'm using pictures for the enemies instead of the normal enemy sprites. I use an invisible sprite for my enemies and then call the battle event 'Show Picture'.

However, the problem I have is that the picture doesn't show until I press enter after the 'x has emerged!' message. I would love the picture to show up straight away. I'm hoping the solution to this is quite simple, but I'm still very new at RPG Maker and finding my way around it.

Help would be appreciated. :)

Rhino

~Inactive~
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
I'm really confused as to why you'd want to use a show picture event as an enemy. When you're using an enemy sprite, they're going to highlight when you select them, blink when they take damage and all the other default functions. If you use a show picture, that's not going to happen.

What I'm guessing you're trying to do is use your own character image to replace the default enemy. So here's my suggestion for you...

Move all your enemy pictures into your game's image>enemies (or sv_enemies if you're using the side view battle system) folder. From your editor, go into database and select the enemies tab. You can either create a new enemy, or (probably better for now,) just replace the enemies image with the picture you want to use. As long as you're using a .png, you should see the file come up for selection in the editor.

This will also help you get around the enemies showing straight away in battle error.

Sorry if I'm mistaken, and you're 100% sure you want to be using a picture.

Last edited:

ladylannistarth

Villager
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV