How did you come up with your name?

Discussion in 'General Lounge' started by Padramyr, Oct 3, 2018.

1. Padramyr

Padramyr Veteran Veteran

First Language:
    German
    Primarily Uses:
    RMMV
    So, the other day I was wondering how you all came up with your nicknames? Did it just came to your mind or did you find inspiration somewhere? Or maybe it's a combination of different things?

Many people associate my name with Lord of the Rings even though it was not inspired by it. I've been writing my own stories (as well as FanFictions) for more than 14 years now. Several years ago I was thinking about names for my new characters and one of the names was "Vanyar". I've never even read the books of Lord of the Rings and I also haven't watched any of the movies at that time. It was years later that I learned that my name was part of that universe.
    At the moment I'm thinking about changing my nickname. I really like the name but I think it shouldn't be associated with Lord of the Rings if I publish one of my games. But I have no idea how to find a great new nickname. So maybe it can help me if I know how you came up with your nicknames - and I'm curious as well of course :)

2. JtheDuelist

JtheDuelist - Veteran

First Language:
    English
    Primarily Uses:
    RMMV
    I've had mine for many years across multiple sites- I first made it when I was just getting into YuGiOh. Probably not the most humble or intriguing backstory, but that is mine...

3. Meike

Meike A slime slowly developing a game Veteran

First Language:
    English
    Primarily Uses:
    RMMV
    Searched for names that were a variant of my real name (or a variant of a variant). I have another handle that I use for everything else pretty much, but I wanted to separate my game dev a bit. Funny thing is, I forget to pronounce it right a lot of times heh.

4. Milennin

Milennin "With a bang and a boom!" Veteran

First Language:
    English
    Primarily Uses:
    RMMV