How Did You Start Out in RPG Maker?

Did You Know There Was A Playstation of RPG Maker?

• No, this is the first I've heard of it.

Votes: 8 16.3%
  • Yes, I'd heard about it.

Votes: 23 46.9%
  • Yes, That's how I got my start.

Votes: 10 20.4%
  • Yes, I know about the PS1 AND PS2 versions.

Votes: 8 16.3%

• Total voters

LycanDiva

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
I'm new to RPG Maker on the PC, and am currently using MV, but I started out with the Playstation version. I read about it in a gaming magazine and it immediately piqued my interest because I love RPG's, especially oldschool turn-based games. My first project, Wild Saga, currently lays in an un-finished state on two carefully guarded PS1 memory cards, never to see the light of day, because the Playstation version was just too hard to make custom character sprites with and I got very frustrated with that. Still, my interest in the software didn't wain. I put RPG Maker VX Ace on my wishlist as a "to get" item a few years back, but between money being tight and an inadequate computer, I never got around to it. My situation is a bit better now, and a little while ago I decided to finally buy VX Ace...and I discovered the latest version, MV, so I got that instead. Now, I'm learning to use MV, with some of the stuff I learned in the PS1 version coming back to me and new knowledge flowing in.

So, how did you get into RPG Maker? Was it through a PC version or one of the console versions? Have you been at it non-stop, or have you had a break or two? Share your origin story here.

Ebanyle

açspasl~d~dfflass
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
Portuguese
Primarily Uses
RMVXA