Not open for further replies.

Jamtec01

Villager
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
Hello everyone,

This is my first post. I want to create stairs and ramps which are viewed from the side and can raise the character if they walk across them. Here are some examples from FF6. If you guys could give any advice or tips I will be very grateful. Thanks!

ff6 stairs1.jpg
final fantasy 6 stairs 2.jpg

bgillisp

Global Moderators
Global Mod
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMVXA

I've moved this thread to MV Support. Thank you.

MV Tutorials is for ones you've written yourself.

mogwai

Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
I've never done stairs before, but I suppose it's not entirely impossible with event script.
I don't have a stairs graphic, so bare with me on this animated GIF example.
stairstry-o.gif

Event on every step a parallel process. It's just a lightweight boolean so don't worry about a ton of processes.
PHP:
if($gamePlayer._realX === $gameMap._events[this._eventId]._x && $gamePlayer._realY === $gameMap._events[this._eventId]._y){
  var dir = $gamePlayer._direction;
  if(Input.isPressed("up")||Input.isPressed("right")){
    $gamePlayer._through = true; $gamePlayer._direction = 6; $gamePlayer.moveDiagonally(6,8);
  }
  if(Input.isPressed("down")||Input.isPressed("left")){
    $gamePlayer._through = true; $gamePlayer._direction = 4; $gamePlayer.moveDiagonally(4,2);
  }
  $gamePlayer._through = false;
}

The top and bottom step are different because you don't want to keep going up/down.
PHP:
if($gamePlayer._realX === $gameMap._events[this._eventId]._x && $gamePlayer._realY === $gameMap._events[this._eventId]._y){
    $gamePlayer._through = true; $gamePlayer._direction = 6; $gamePlayer.moveDiagonally(6,8);
  }
//  if(Input.isPressed("down")||Input.isPressed("left")){ // bottom step has this line removed
//    $gamePlayer._through = true; $gamePlayer._direction = 4; $gamePlayer.moveDiagonally(4,2);