How do I import a custom parallex background into MZ (I’m a mega noob)

Min-ae

Villager
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
Other
Ok so, I bought RPG Maker MZ a couple days ago and I have no idea what I’m doing. I have to make a mini demo-like game for an assignment, and I’ve drawn what I believe to be all of the necessary visuals I need, but I am clueless as how to put them into the game engine. I’ve tried finding tutorials, but all I can seem to find is how to use the default mapping tools in the program. I am a total noob and I don’t 100% understand all of the terminology in programming. If someone could give me a VERY detailed explanation as to how I can implement the map I’ve drawn as a functional parallex background, it would be very helpful.

TimetoFolly

Villager
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMZ
You can save an image in the folder \RMMZ\[ProjectName]\img\parallaxes, then when right click on a map and in properties you can change its parallax. Make sure to save the image as .png as well

Min-ae

Villager
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
Other
How do I change it to a parallex in properties??? Nothing obvious pops up??? sorry for my incompetence.....
You can save an image in the folder \RMMZ\[ProjectName]\img\parallaxes, then when right click on a map and in properties you can change its parallax. Make sure to save the image as .png as well

TimetoFolly

Villager
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMZ
When you're in the editor all your levels are in the bottom left corner, right click on the one you want to edit and click "Edit". A window will come up with the Map Properties and in the bottom left of that will be Parallax settings. Just under that is a long bar under the word "Image:" and clicking on the Bar will show you the images you can use. If you've saved your image in the location I mentioned (as a .PNG file) then it should appear here for you to use.
Hope this helps