How do I Register my Game?

Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
Hello! I'm an ultimate noob. I've read that after you purchase an RPG Maker engine, you have to register the engine and the game you make with the company before legally selling it. However, I haven't seen anything on the official site that allows you to do so. I've purchased several engines, but all of them are on Steam. RM 2003, XP, VX Ace, and MV. I'm hoping to finish a demo for an MV game soon, with some assets used from VX Ace. Does anyone know where you're supposed to do the registering? I've heard that Steam does some of this automatically, but I'm not sure at all. Sorry if this seems like a stupid thing to ask about.

Shaz

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
If you purchased them on Steam, you're already registered.

If you purchase the standalone version, you'll get an option on the startup screen that allows you to enter your activation key.  But you don't need to worry about that.

Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
And I don't know who told you that you had to register the game you make.  That is totally untrue.
I thought I read it in a legal document that comes with the engine ... 

Anyhoo, so if I purchased an engine on Steam, then I'm already legally covered? I want to so everything as legally as humanly possible. I even made a credits list page of possible extra resources I MIGHT use before I even try to make an official credits page in the game.

(On an unrelated note, one of your games happens to be on my Steam wishlist! Yay! I might see about it in Xmas, maybe. It looks so superior to anything I could make)

Last edited by a moderator:

Shaz

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV