How do I remove the highlight/rectangle cursor?

FinalBossMan

Villager
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
I've been struggling for hours trying to find a solution to this issue. I'm trying to disable/remove the highlighted cursor in menus (where a blinking rectangle pops up underneath the selection), and instead use a regular cursor (I'm using GALVs plugin atm). I'm a noob to JS so I'm not sure what exactly it is I need to change. I've been able to stop the blinking, but not remove the rectangle altogether.

I could settle for the rectangle to have a transparent fill and rounded edges, but I'm not familiar with how to code that (or where).

From what I read on here and other sites, the windows are pretty complicated, so I hope asking for help isn't too much trouble! Thanks in advance!

Lay

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
French
Primarily Uses
RMMV
Okay so first of all, I'm note sure it will be compatible with plugins to do such a thing.

If you never want to use a blinking cursor, one option is to edit the _updateCursor methods in rpg_core.js

Find the function below in rpg_core.js and modify this function as follow :

JavaScript:
Window.prototype._updateCursor = function() {

// ADDED SECTION
    this._windowCursorSprite.alpha = 1; // change this value for lower opacity. must be between 0 and 1.
    this._windowCursorSprite.visible = this.isOpen();
    return;
    // END OF ADDED SECTION

var blinkCount = this._animationCount % 40;
    var cursorOpacity = this.contentsOpacity;
    if (this.active) {
        if (blinkCount < 20) {
            cursorOpacity -= blinkCount * 8;
        } else {
            cursorOpacity -= (40 - blinkCount) * 8;
        }
    }
    this._windowCursorSprite.alpha = cursorOpacity / 255;
    this._windowCursorSprite.visible = this.isOpen();
};