How do I set down a picked up item?

Eginor

Villager
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
Hey there,

Hopefully the title isn't too confusing.

I'm really new to RPG Maker and I have a small game I want to make. Something I can finish.

With some research into Self Switches I've figured out how to make a sprite change or disappear, indicating you've picked it up.

But I haven't been able to figure out how to set it down again with events.

Is it possible to make it so you can set down the item anywhere? If not I can make a place for things to be set.

Btw I realize you aren't actually picking up the thing that disappears. I just wasn't sure how else to phrase the title.

Thanks!

Shaz

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
If you want to designate a specific place where it can be set down, just use more events and self switches.

If you want to be able to set it down ANYWHERE, I think there is a script by Tsukihime that will let you do that. I don't recall the name, but you could look through the Master Script List sorted by author.

Eginor

Villager
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
If you want to designate a specific place where it can be set down, just use more events and self switches.

If you want to be able to set it down ANYWHERE, I think there is a script by Tsukihime that will let you do that. I don't recall the name, but you could look through the Master Script List sorted by author.
Oh wow, that ended up being absurdly simple once I took a break from trying to figure it out. It was more self switches. Thanks!

This might be into scripting areas, but is there any way you can record how many of an item you've picked up and what state it's in?

To add some context, I have my character in a room and part of the puzzle will be interacting with and moving boxes. So they will either be open or closed, and are able to be picked up and moved in either state.

Shaz

Veteran
Veteran