How do you feel about enemy palette swaps?

Darth Equus

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMVX
Decided to ask this here since it can affect enemy behavior.

Final Fantasy, Phantasy Star and Breath of Fire have done it. I think Dragon Quest has done it. So, is it wrong of small developers like us to use palette swaps to depict stronger enemies? My current project is influenced by Phantasy Star (PSIII being the first RPG I ever played), and that one used palette swaps for stronger versions of enemies within the same "family".

As a designer, I wouldn't just make the swaps stronger in terms of HP and strength, but also abilities: Using the same graphic of a vampire bunny, I can make one that steals HP, an upgraded version that steals HP and flees afterwards (robbing the player from XP and goodies if they don't eliminate it first), and one that steals MP, uses those MP to cast high-level magic, steal HP, then petrify or KO the player, indicating the difference with colors. ("Oh, it's just a harmless little bunny, isn't it?") All this without having to spend time and money to make a different sprite for each, akin to how there are varieties of plants and animals within species in nature.

Yet, I've seen contempt for the use of swaps coming from players, professional and "professional" gaming publications.

Apologies if this has been asked before. What are your thoughts?

Mystic_Enigma

Has something you want.
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
English
Primarily Uses
RMMV
I actually don't mind them. So what if enemies look alike? I'll just rethink my tactics accordingly as usual.

On that note, I shamelessly plan to use them for my own project(Please don't hate me!).

Anthony Xue

Ancient Architect
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
German
Primarily Uses