How do you guys do a work flow for a game?

Carnage123

Villager
Reaction score
First Language
english
Primarily Uses
This is my very first project and I would like a little feedback on my workflow. To me, I think it will be fine, but would like outside eyes.

I have the majority of everything in my head and creating a story flow chart to put things in order. I also am putting tabs and links to plug in dialoug, names of cities etc. After that flow chart is done. I will have a nice list of all my cities, monsters, etc and artwork that will need to be done. After I do the concept art, I will proceed to open up RPG maker and start taking the concept art and making it game art, then start building the storyline ingame

Is this a proper workflow? To me, this seems to be the most organized way to do it. I feel like if I just jump right in there in RPG maker, things will just be a mess and there wont be any type of structure.

Andar

Veteran
Veteran
Reaction score
First Language
German
Primarily Uses
RMMV
Yes, that is one possible way of doing it - especially if you plan for a larger game it's a lot better than just "jumping in"

I'll do it a bit differently, but that's mostly because I plan for a non-linear game where the story won't fit into a single flowchart.

However, if this is your very first project then you're missing an important step: Learning the engine.

Making a flowchart of everything is a good way if you already know how to implement that flow chart, but if this is really your first game I would suggest putting it aside for a months and make a very simple gaming project just to learn how the program is used, to do the tutorials and decide which scripts you might want to add to your engine.

After that month you can scrap this learning project, but the experience you gained in working on it will speed up the work on your primary project after that.

Follow the link in my signature to more explanations and links to other tutorials.

thecretanhound

Veteran